App Economy

Mobile Marketing and Strategy by Josef Mayerhofer

WhatsApp-David vs. iMessage-Goliath

david-goliath-whatsapp-apple

After Apple released a number of new IOS features at the WWDC in early June that one might have seen before in the occasional app here or there, a more or less perceivable outcry went through the blogs of Apple followers and developers.
“The SMS is dead!” I read everywhere. iMessage, a built-in iPhone-to-iPhone chat client is to revolutionize our way of using SMS. Great, because I always found writing text messages annoying!
What I did not reat in all the (exaggerated) excitement: What does this new expansion mean for existing apps like the WhatsApp Messenger ?
Granted, WhatsApp did not invent instant messaging, but the app certainly was a pioneer. For the first time we did not have to laboriously enter contact information on the phone to start a chat. And by now WhatsApp is available for various platforms, which makes it athe full SMS/MMS/IM replacement for many.
Exactly this is what could save WhatsApp’s head. WhatsApp has a significant first-mover advantage and was able to mobilize around 15 million users since publication in June 2009. A user base, which will still be impressive when Apple creates millions of iMessage users this fall.

whatsapp-vs-imessage Screenshots

Screenshots: Whatsapp (left) and iMessage (right)

WhatsApp users benefit from network effects: The more of their friends use the app, the better for every user. In this context we also speak of positive feedback: Each additional user increases the likelihood of WhatsApp to attract more users. In extreme cases, so many that the market is dominated by one software product from one company. Microsoft comes to mind. A good example, whose story I will analyze in a later blog post.
That’s the theory. But shouldn’t we just have come to the point where the bosses of WhatsApp pee their pants? Yes and no.
The boys and girls from WhatsApp have demonstrated far-sightedness some time ago and have made the app avaliable for Symbian, Blackberry and Android. And even better, the app is initially free for those platforms. After the first year users have to pay two dollars in annual fees. Also very smart, because after a year of intensive use a strong lock-in effect develops. Switching of the chat app costs money even if they only consist in the cost of lost comfort. WhatsApp can thus generate a cash flow over several years instead of a single payment and multiply their revenue.

The multi-platform strategy will help WhatsApp enormously after the introduction of iMessage. Most of us don’t just have iPhone acquaintances. (To be honest, most of my friends either do not a smartphone or are either unable or unwilling to install a chat app.) Of course Apple has zero interest allowing chats between iPhone and the Blackberry IM app “BBM”. After all, customers shall be bound to their platform, and if possible even convince friends to switch. Which brings us back to network effects.
WhatsApp’s competitive advantage is the far greater potential reach across multiple operating systems. I guess they stand good chances that the decline of revenue this fall will be limitied. Most certainly it would be a good David vs. Goliath success story.

 

 

Images: Gustave Doré, Vincent Benedict Castro, Ablo Herrero Isasi

1 Comment

  1. I totally vote for WhatsApp to win the fight.

    In my eyes, Apple just ripped it off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

© 2017 App Economy

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

App Economy

Mobile-Marketing und -Strategie von Josef Mayerhofer

WhatsApp-David vs. iMessage-Goliath

david-goliath-whatsapp-apple

Nachdem Apple auf der WWDC Anfang Juni eine Reihe von neuen iOS Features vorstellte, die man schon in der ein oder anderen App oder bei der Konkurrenz gesehen hat, ging ein mehr oder weniger hörbarer Aufschrei durch die Blogs der Apple-Jünger und -Entwickler.
„Die SMS ist tot!“, lese ich an allen Ecken. iMessage, ein integrierter iPhone-zu-iPhone Chat-Client soll unsere Art, SMS zu nutzen, revolutionieren. Super, denn SMS-Schreiben fand ich immer schon nervig!
Was ich in all der (übertriebenen) Aufregung nicht gelesen habe: Was bedeutet die neue Erweiterung für bestehende Apps wie den WhatsApp Messenger?
Zugegeben, WhatsApp hat Instant Messaging nicht erfunden, aber die App war sicherlich ein Vorreiter. Zum ersten Mal musste man nicht mühselig Kontakte eintragen um am Handy gleich chatten zu können. Und inzwischen ist WhatsApp für verschiedenste Plattformen verfügbar, was es für viele zum vollwertigen SMS/MMS/IM-Ersatz macht.
Genau das könnte WhatsApp den Kopf retten. WhatsApp hat einen deutlichen First-Mover-Vorteil und konnte seit Veröffentlichung im Juni 2009 rund 15 Millionen User mobilisieren. Eine Nutzerbasis, die sich selbst dann noch sehen lassen kann, wenn Apple im Herbst wie durch Magie Millionen von iMessage-Nutzern erschafft.

whatsapp-vs-imessage Screenshots

Screenshots: Whatsapp (links) and iMessage (rechts)

WhatsApp-Chatter profitieren von Netzwerkeffekten: Je mehr ihrer Freunde die App nutzen, desto besser für jeden Nutzer. In diesem Zusammenhang spricht man auch von positivem Feedback: Mit jedem zusätzlichen Nutzer steigt die Wahrscheinlichkeit für WhatsApp, weitere Nutzer anzuziehen. Im Extremfall geht das so weit, dass der Markt für ein Softwareprodukt von einem Unternehmen beherrscht wird. Da denkt man gleich an Microsoft. Ein gutes Beispiel, dessen Geschichte ich in einem späteren Blogpost aufrollen werde.
So weit die Theorie. Aber waren wir vorhin nicht an dem Punkt, wo die Chefs von WhatsApp die Hosen voll haben müssten? Ja und Nein.
Die Jungs und Mädels von WhatsApp haben schon vor einiger Zeit Weitblick bewiesen und haben die App auch für Nokia, Blackberry und Android verfügbar gemacht. Und um dem die Krone aufzusetzen, ist die App für diese Plattformen zunächst kostenlos. Erst ab dem zweiten Jahr fallen zwei Dollar Jahresgebühr an. Auch sehr schlau, denn nach einem Jahr intensiver Nutzung sind die chatfreudigen Handybesitzer einem starken Lock-In Effekt ausgesetzt. Das Wechseln der Chat-App verursacht Kosten und seien es nur die Kosten des verlorenen Komforts. WhatsApp kann so statt einer Einmalzahlung einen Zahlungsstrom über mehrere Jahre erzielen und die Einnahmen vervielfachen.
Die Multi-Plattform-Strategie wird WhatsApp nach der Einführung von iMessage enorm helfen. Die wenigsten von uns haben nur iPhone-Bekanntschaften. (Um ehrlich zu sein, haben die meisten meiner Freunde entweder gar kein Smartphone oder sind nicht fähig oder willens eine Chat-App zu installieren.) Es ist natürlich gar nicht im Interesse von Apple, auch das Chatten zwischen iPhones und der Blackberry-Chat-App „BBM“ zu erlauben. Schließlich sollen die Kunden schön an die eigene Plattform gebunden werden und wenn möglich auch noch Freunde zum Wechseln bringen. Womit wir wieder bei Netzwerkeffekten wären.

 

WhatsApps Competitive Advantage ist also die weitaus größere potenzielle Reichweite über mehrere Betriebssysteme hinweg. Ich schätze die Chancen gut ein, dass sich der Umsatzrückgang ab Herbst in Grenzen hält. Es wäre jedenfalls eine schöne David-gegen-Goliath-Erfolgsgeschichte.

 

 

Bilder: Gustave Doré, Vincent Benedict Castro, Ablo Herrero Isasi

1 Kommentar

  1. I totally vote for WhatsApp to win the fight.

    In my eyes, Apple just ripped it off.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

*

© 2017 App Economy

Theme von Anders NorénHoch ↑